Skip to content

Next bike: Tour or Recreational

July 29, 2009

I love my hybrid, yes I do, however, in my increasing love for biking I’m at a crossroads at what type of bike to get next.  On one hand I’d love a recreational European style bike like this:

Pashley Prince Sorveign

pashleyprincessblack

But also the open road is hollering at me to explore the road less traveled on a bike such as this Rocky Mountain Sherpa

RMsherpa30

While both have their attraction with steep purchase prices and apartment space at a premium I really can only buy one in the end.

Who will win this coin toss?

Wait and see so stay tuned

6 Comments leave one →
  1. supramax permalink
    July 31, 2009 6:42 am

    Your City 7.1 is a space age recreational bike.
    What’s the farthest you’ve rode in a day on it?

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 2, 2009 8:28 am

      Well yesterday about an hour and a half so that is probably the longest. Do you think it will be good for touring too?

      • supramax permalink
        August 2, 2009 2:37 pm

        Touring is days and days of riding all day with a loaded bike, unless you do ‘credit card touring’. Even then, it’s days and days of riding all day. 🙂

        I did quite a few multiple month tours on a sport bike (compact frame), without any problem, so I think the ‘Globes’ with their long wheelbase, would be fine for touring.
        A touring bike, of course is more than a long wheelbase.

        Do some all day rides and find out how the bike treats you and if riding all day is what you really want to do. If it is and if you find the bike is uncormfortable for that kind of riding, then get a touring bike.

  2. Sonja permalink
    August 1, 2009 2:32 pm

    Hello! I found your blog via bikeforums.net…

    I thought I should comment, because I, too, started with a hybrid, a Trek 7.3 FX which I still love and use.

    Then I got into touring and bought a Rocky Mountain Sherpa which I love! I’ve done two tours with it and hope to do another in September.

    I also have a Biria Dutch-style and a Batavus Entrada, similar to the Pashley, which I test rode.

    I’m not much help as far as helping you with your decision, because I love all my bikes, but I use them for very different purposes. I guess it depends on what kind of riding you’ll be doing most – long-distance loaded tours, or scooting around town.

    I bet you’ll eventually get both. 🙂

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 2, 2009 8:34 am

      Thanks Sonja,

      I didn’t test ride the Pashley yesterday but I did ride the Sherpa which i absolutely loved:) The handlebars were a bit awkward for me but I’m sure it would be easy to get used too.

      Hopefully, I will get to ride the Pashley next time we head over to the LBS.

  3. jimgood permalink
    August 3, 2009 4:07 pm

    Get the bike you love. You won’t regret it.

    But, just to muddy the water a bit, I LOVE my Specialized TriCross Comp. It’s pretty expensive though. One thing I love about it most, and that is never mentioned in reviews, is the “interrupter” brakes on the tops. I never ride in the drops. I’m always on top, because its more comfortable and far more stable. I will never even look at buying a bike with drop handlebars without getting these.

    I hope the picture works. These are similar to what I have, and I use them 100% of the time. Some bike purists don’t like them for some reason, but maybe they’ve never used them. They call them “suicide brakes”, but I have no idea why – they are better, and far safer, than getting in the drops or on the hoods to stop.

Leave a Reply

