Skip to content

Squished!

August 22, 2009

Despite a raging headache, my husband and I ventured out today. First for haircuts and then off the United Cycle on the Southside.
I didn’t actually ride anything today but I did sit on a Trek 7100 to see how it would feel and I felt very squished. I think to make up for the step through they shortened up the the frame and I felt very uncomfortable. I hope that the Pashley wont give me that same feeling when they finally get here for me to test ride.

Maybe if I was shorter the Trek would have been a perfect fit and in fact some of my shorter online friends love them, but at 5’8 and still plus sized I want a bike that is a bit more roomy from saddle to handlebars.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 22, 2009 10:00 pm

    Hm… Have you tried a Bianchi? I hear that taller women seem to like the geometry.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 22, 2009 11:51 pm

      Do you mean the newer ones? I didn’t care for the look of the new Bianchi’s. Maybe I need to see about an older one. I really just want a classy looking bike to compliment my hybrid…plus so I can bike wearing skirts or dresses:)

  2. August 24, 2009 7:43 am

    I misunderstood and thought you were trying a roadbike when I saw “Trek”; now I see that the 7100 is a hybrid and you were probably trying the step-trough frame. I’d recommend against hybrids with this construction; here’s why.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 24, 2009 9:41 am

      Thanks for pointing me to your entry:) At least I was correct in my reasons for feeling so squished on those bikes:)

Leave a Reply

