Skip to content

Can you say “Mixte”

August 24, 2009

In my meandering in the world of bikes I keep hearing hearing the term “Mixte frame” come up in my quest to find bikes that rings in my soul.

For some reason I have only been able to see one Mixte bike in person and it was parked outside a local coffee shop. I luckily had my husband with me at the time so I was able to point it out.

The late great Sheldon Brown (whom I stumbled upon sadly after his passing) was probably the biggest cyclist advocate I’ve come across online has a better explanation of what a Mixte is so I will let him explain instead of me fumbling with it.

But then, lo and behold after reading another cycling blog this morning I find out that one model of the Electra Amsterdam has a Mixte frame for the Women’s model; The Amsterdam Sport 9d. I will call to the only two local bike shops that carry Electra’s and see if they have one in that I can test ride. Ultimately I’d rather have a vintage Mixte but until I find one here to I may have to go more modern. The 9d only comes in a powder blue colour but hopefully it worked a and the Pashley didn’t I could have it custom painted black.

Of course we also found our dream sofa last night at the Lazyboy Gallery so that will come first. But no harm in test riding and then planning ahead:)

The Electra Amsterdam Sport 9d
amsterdam9d

2 Comments leave one →
  1. miss sarah permalink
    August 24, 2009 8:58 pm

    Hey!

    I got most of it at some housewares store on Calgary Trail, Linens and Things? I think they’re closed now:( At Christmas Don ordered me an extra colour to add to our settings (the blue one) and we got it via UPS from the states. Worth it but… beware the tarrifs!

    S*

  2. girlcanbike permalink*
    August 24, 2009 9:00 pm

    I miss Linen & Things and we checked Bed Bath and Beyond this weekend and they didn’t carry it either. Guess I better check out US sites.
    We used to have an impressive collection of new and old Fiesta but we sold most when before we moved here to Alberta. Glad to see I’m not the only one here that likes Fiestaware.

    Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

