Skip to content

Utility Biking

August 26, 2009

I think one of the things I love most about my bike and biking in general is that like a car you can use it for many different reasons but unlike a car ZERO pollution.
The fact that I can pleasure ride along side my husband on the weekends and then bike to the grocery store during the week for food is such a perk to me. We’ve been carfree for almost five years now so most times we’ve picked our location to live by how far it was to walk or bus to a grocery store. Having bikes now means we don’t have to worry so much. I can also save a bit of money but shopping the sales at different stores too.

Today I’ll be riding to our local organic store and then to our regular store for groceries. My summer ends today so I’m back to work tomorrow so I’ll have a lot to stock up on for lunches and quick and easy suppers. The panniers I have now hold a lot with the help of bungee cords and my new ones when they come in will be even better. I’m also considering a front rack if I don’t use the basket I have on order now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 9:37 pm

    I love utility biking, too. I’m constantly biking for a “reason,” to get somewhere, that often the thought of a joy ride seems silly. Kinda how no one really takes leisurely Sunday rides in their cars anymore, except that I actually enjoy running errands on a bike 🙂

Leave a Reply

