Skip to content

Pretty? Yes, Affordable? Hopefully

August 28, 2009

I like trolling bike websites. Specialized, Trek, Kona, Rivendell, I love them all. Of course this morning I was quite excited to see this new bike with a vintage flair
bellevillewsd_gullwhite

I do not know a lot of bike technical jargon but I know what I like and so far I like what I see. I’d have to swap out the saddle and the handlebar grips as I’m not a fan of brown but if it rides as well as it does in my daydreams it could be a bike for me if the Pashley doesn’t work out . It has a MSRP of 659.99 USD so hopefully when it comes up to Canada the price isn’t bumped up too much.

Things that have impressed me so far is that its a steel frame, supposedly eco-friendly and I love the matching rear and front rack. Again not so impressed with the brown saddle and grips

I will be bugging my Trek dealer this weekend so I can find out when I can test ride this beauty and its a go and the Pashley is a go I may have to sell my other bike so keep out stable down to two bikes each max.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Venus permalink
    August 28, 2009 6:52 pm

    I’ve been eyeing this bike too. It seems really great – though I wish it had more gears. Love the design, the eco elements, and the fact that it’s steel. I would probably replace that saddle with a Brooks though (even though leather is not very green).

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 28, 2009 7:00 pm

      I think the way I was reading the spec it can be changed for a higher gear( bike tech talk plainspeak) if that is the case I’ve have it switched over to a 21speed and put a Brooks saddle on it and maybe even Brooks grips which while not “green” is pretty. I”m not sure how long the grips last but if they Brooks saddles last as long as I’ve hear I’ll consider that green enough:)

  2. August 30, 2009 11:41 am

    The mixte version of this looks remarkable for a modern bike; they did an excellent job on this one.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 30, 2009 12:06 pm

      I actually like this version better than the “Mixte” Electra Amsterdam Sport. I cant wait to test ride this. After lugging my hybrid up three flights of stairs this morning I’m starting to have some reservations about my being able to lug the Pashley up the same stairs. If the Trek works out and is about as light as my bike now then I may have to make it a serious contender.

      • August 30, 2009 2:54 pm

        The Pashley up 3 flights of stairs? No way, I would not recommend it. I hadn’t realised that you’d need to do this every day. I have one small set of concrete porch steps and that is enough. It is not the weight alone that makes it challenging, but the weight + loop frame: It’s hard to get a good grip that you could sustain for long. Diamond and mixte frames are much easier to drag, weight issues aside, because the frame is more comfortable to grip.

        I agree with you that the Trek mixte is nicer than the Electra. In fact, the Electra is not a true mixte (the geometry is not right; it only resembles a mixte), whereas the Trek did a truly classic job. If I were buying a new bike on a budget and I did not care about the lug vs weld issue, that Trek mixte would be what I’d go for.

  3. August 31, 2009 9:40 pm

    This bike is a really exciting addition to the market, especially at that price. The steel mixte frame is the most exciting aspect for me, but also the internal gear hub will be great for all-weather easy cycling and the dynamo lighting system is hassle-free. This is not much more expensive than the Jamis Commuter (my first bike purchase) but so much better on so many levels. Can’t wait to hear your impressions after you get a test ride.

  4. jeannine permalink
    May 21, 2010 6:50 pm

    This bike weighs two tons. I has a sad

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      May 23, 2010 9:12 am

      oh that is sad:( Luckily seeing it in person I decided it really wouldn’t work for me aesthetically

Leave a Reply

