Skip to content

Pashley Vs. The Batavus Old Dutch

February 28, 2010

I haven’t really seen the Batavus in person yet though Red Bike will be carrying some Batavus’ I’m not sure which models they will have.

I started thinking of getting the Batavus as a cheaper option to the Pashley though I’d need some mods done to suit me better. I also am a bit worried that the Pashley frame is a bit small for my 5’8 height.

My husband thinks I should still focus on the Pashley and I tend to agree but I’ll still test ride whatever step through frame Batavus they do get in so I can have a better comparison.

But then again maybe the larger, 22.5″, frame would be better for me in the end and I can still go with the Pashley.

The Batavus Old Dutch

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 8:02 am

    I would say to compare the 2 if you get the chance (if you haven’t already). I’m going to be picking up my Pashley Princess on the weekend – I’m 5’8″ & have gone for the 20″ frame, which suits my size & build – have you gotten the chance to test the Pashley to see if it feels right?

    Great blow btw – came across it a while ago while searching for other Girl-Bike-Bloggers 🙂

    Lady Vélo.

  2. Ray permalink
    March 4, 2010 7:00 pm

    http://pokacycle.com/Ltd.%20Ed.%20Headbadges.html

    The lily of the valley headbadges are here, if you were still wondering.

    And get the bike that fits you AND that you really like.

  3. March 6, 2010 4:45 pm

    Ride the bikes and get comfortable on them. There are many adjustments available to make them more comfortable. There are some bikes that are comfortable to some people and not to others even if they are of similar stature.

    Aaron

  4. March 16, 2010 7:25 pm

    If you’re 5’8″ then I’d suggest the 22.5″ Pashley frame. I am 5’7″ with long legs and in retrospect wish I’d gotten the largest frame instead of the 20″. Of course, your experience may vary – so always best to try the bike.

Leave a Reply

