Skip to content

Dutch Bikes

March 15, 2010

I really like the looks of the Dutch Bikes. I will take a look at the Batavus when they are in stock at Red Bike but I also found this site which also had some cute bikes. I feel like I should be in a black and white French movie with a Dutch Bike and a Baguette:)

I also read that Dutch bikes are also called “Omafiet” which means Grandma Bike. This makes it even cooler for me as when I started showing my husband the Pashleys and the Dutch Bikes he remarked that they looked like “Grandma Bikes” Well I’m not a grandma yet but I sure what a Pashley or Dutch Bike.

My Dutch Bike

I am a very visual person and if I like something that is mostly what matters to move over the specific details of a bike. I’ve also haven’t found a definitive site to give me more information on these lovelies.

Maybe someday I’ll own one along with my hybrid and Future Pashley. I only wish my husband was more into these classic looks as he could get one too but oh no…not him:)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 10:40 pm

    I like to pretend I’m in a B&W French film. My life certainly would be more interesting 🙂

    I hope you’re able to try out the Batavus you like. Those feel quite different from Pashleys, in my experience. They are equally beautiful, though!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      March 17, 2010 7:32 pm

      I’m glad I’m not the only one that has the daydream:) I will be trying out the Batavus hopefully in a couple of months but I really want to also test ride the Azor Oma before making my final decision. I think I’m driving my husband nuts with my indecesion

  2. March 17, 2010 6:43 pm

    I tried both the Pashley and Batavus at Redbike when I was visiting Edmonton. They were both great, but the Batavus fit better. The Pashley had a lovely loud bell tho’. It startled me when I tested it on the street.
    Enjoy the test ride!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      March 17, 2010 7:33 pm

      Did you buy the Batavus then? Thanks also for visiting my blog

  3. March 17, 2010 8:42 pm

    I did. We have been having a great time!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      March 17, 2010 8:48 pm

      Nice!!! Im waiting for them to arrive at Red Bike:) I did enjoy the Pashley but I still would love to give the other two a try before deciding

Leave a Reply

