Skip to content

Is it me or a new change in the world?

March 31, 2010

I’m not sure if its because I’m just now becoming more aware are a lot of people in the world are.
I’m seeing more and more bikes in advertisements and tv commercials. It nice to see except now I wish they would mention the name/make/manufacturer of the bikes because a lot of them are really pretty cruiser vintage looking bikes too.

In my current issue of Land’s End Catalog in the there is a fab bike in a photo-shoot and in some of the new Target TV ads featuring Liberty of London there is a woman on a bike too. There are others but I dont have any specific recollection ( will mention them later if I do ) I also have noticed that they really seem to be targeting women too which is awesome!

We’ve been carfree for almost 6 years now and only have been bike owners less than a year but I love how having and riding a bike makes me feel. I may not be too happy now with my diamond frame hybrid but I do love how it made me more mobile last summer and looking forward to this biking season too.

I really hope all these bikes in ads and commercial is a very positive subtle way to encourage more people to ride.

In a completely unrelated entry I’m hoping to get a summer sales position in a local bike shop. I think it would be awesome as a female to sell bikes. I’m not talking about manning a cash register either but actual sales. There is a LBS hiring that is close to me but I may feel out a few others too. I’ve always been good at sales mostly because I always make every effort to learn what I’m selling instead of looking confused, I’m sure you have had salespersons give you “that” look.

Much Love & Lots of Biking!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 10:49 pm

    There are a lot of people on their bicycles in my part of town. Lots of bikes locked up at the train station, too. I agree that more people are hopping on their two-wheels and enjoying their urban travels 🙂 I’ve been riding to the station to catch the train, and it’s a wonderful wake-up!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      April 2, 2010 6:24 pm

      I wish I was brave enough to lock my bike up at the train station but I get paranoid that it will get stolen. We’re hopefully going out tomorrow morning for a ride to the Farmer’s Market. Hubby has a pretty bad head cold so its not a sure thing yet:(

  2. April 3, 2010 9:35 pm

    I totally understand about your hesitancy about leaving your bike locked up in public areas. In fact I’ve had a couple of my bikes stolen from lock-ups in the past. The only reason I lock up my bike at the station is because most of my bike parts are welded together, so it’s impossible to steal any parts. My saddle is bolted to the frame too. Also, Bruce gave me a heavy steel Kryptonite lock; the Pashley also has its own little safety mechanism. There’s a turn-key that locks up its gears so that no-one can ride it away. If someone wants to steal it, my Pashley has to be picked up off the ground because the wheels lock. As long as I’m careful to triple-check my lock, I am OK……

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      April 3, 2010 9:58 pm

      I totally forgot the the Pashley has its own locking system. I think that coupled with my Huge Kryptonite lock and I’d feel more secure for sure

Leave a Reply

