Skip to content

I did it!!!

June 1, 2010

This morning I biked to work. Thanks to a kind person on a Edmonton board I frequent he mapped out a route for me that worked great:)

So from downtown Oliver Area to 112 Ave & 66 street I biked a little under 5 miles in 40 minutes:) I don’t think that was too bad for my first try either:) Traffic was great getting there just a tad hairy coming back:) I even stopped at Safeway and loaded up as it was Customer Appreciation Day!!!

I biked a total of 80 minutes today and walked a total of 40!!! Yea for calories burned too:D

I still want a different bike though. It doesn’t even need a lot of gears as I don’t shift as much as I thought I would. And I’d like a cushier saddle:)

P.S. 115 Street and 105 Ave has a BUTTLOAD of potholes..Go ahead, ask me how I know this.

I may bike to work again tomorrow too!!

P.P.S. Today is the 1st Day of Edmonton Bike Month

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tamara permalink
    June 1, 2010 8:15 pm

    I missed bike to work week but will ride tomorrow. My ride is SUPER short filled with traffic, crazies and potholes. Riding there is easier than riding home as home, even though only 1.4 miles, is all up a slight grade that hurts my chest 🙂

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 1, 2010 8:51 pm

      I hear you on those grades..there is still one small hill here that for the life of me I have not been able to conquer..I have to dismount and walk my bike up the little bitty hill…Its right by my favorite bike shop though so I can’t bypass it at all:(

  2. June 1, 2010 8:45 pm

    Good workout, Fi !! Keep it up!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 1, 2010 8:50 pm

      Judy~

      Thanks:) I didn’t think I’d be able to do it but I showed myself I could:) I did have to stop a few times but still was early for work

  3. June 2, 2010 9:03 pm

    We should both bike to work on Friday, supposed to be nice! And we could both take pics !

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 3, 2010 6:00 am

      AWwww Today is my Friday so I’m off tomrorow…I actually talked to my husband this morning though and I’m going to bike over to RB and check out the Fryslan …I can still take some pictures though for sure as I’ll be going over the High Level Bridge and passing some nice scenery

  4. June 3, 2010 3:34 pm

    Awesome! Soon you’ll be doing it all the time. It only gets easier and more fun.

  5. June 11, 2010 12:18 am

    I get way less of a work out now that I’m in Belgravia and also uh… employed at home:)

    I used to ride 40 mins one way all the time. Man, I was so fit that summer. You couldn’t even pinch an inch! Keep on trucking. Pashley is going to make you so strong:) Just take a deep breath on those windy days…

Leave a Reply

