Skip to content

The Smackdown

June 5, 2010

As I said I would hubby and I headed out earlier this afternoon to Red Bike to test ride the Batavus Fryslan and Pashley Princess Sovereign.

I tried the Fryslan first:

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

My first impression was the placement of the handlebars..I’m no petite gal obviously and while the Fryslan was a larger feeling bike I didn’t care for the handlebars at all. Also, coaster brakes!! lol I didn’t realize it had them so when I tried to back pedal to change the pedal position…LOL Yep abrupt stop

The only medium sized Pashley they had was already sold and paid for but they let me take it out for a spin and I treated her like gold as she now belonged to someone else:

Photobucket
Photobucket (that is the beautiful Judy from the Penner Chronicles:)
Photobucket
Photobucket

I think it was a good thing that I test rode both bikes on the same day and it was funny because after I got on the Pashley my husband and Judy both said to each other that they knew that would be the bike I’d pick.

They were right too…after test riding the medium framed Pashley a second time it felt much better, much smoother, and more comfortable..kinda like coming home. I didn’t feel squashed and getting on and off was a joy too. I didn’t feel like riding a clown bike this time around either and I know that even when I get down to my goal weight the Pashley will serve me well for a very long time!!

Monday I have to call back to Red Bike as they didn’t have anymore in my size or colour in stock and then Thursday evening I’ll put it on layaway.

One of the best parts of today though was finally meeting Judy from the Penner Chronicles. Believe it or not I’m a bit shy meeting new people but she was so warm and kind and that one of the best smiles ever!! It was like reuniting with a long lost friend!! Her son was very courteous too!!!

Photobucket

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 2:26 pm

    Oooo, burn! Batavus gets knocked out! 😮

    I’m glad you got to do a side-by-side comparison and were able to figure out what felt best to you. I know coaster brakes are definitely not everyone’s cup of tea, and things like the handlebars are again just a personal thing. A small part of me feels like the Fryslan suffers from having its not-the-best stock saddle up against the Pashley’s Brooks and leather grips… But really, the Pashley is so gorgeous, and I am not surprised she won you over!

    Frida is sitting in the next room looking miffed, so I’d better go over and reassure her that she’s number one in *my* heart anyway!

    So excited for your future bicycle!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 5, 2010 2:46 pm

      AWww I’m sorry Frida:( I’m sure there will be other happy Fryslan purchases out there so there is hope 🙂

      Overall I did like the Fryslan but the Pashley just had a bit of an edge.

      I remember coaster brakes from when I was younger and I think if I had been more prepared for them I’d have enjoyed them more but it was quite a surprised..plus because of my hybrid I’m used to fiddling with the pedals too..lol

      I will be getting the Wald folding rear racks so my Pash will sorta match Frida and Velouria’s Eustacia…..Now to think of names, I had been leaning towards Mina but now I must think some more on it

  2. June 5, 2010 3:49 pm

    Hello my new/long lost friend, lol. It was lovely to meet your cute self and your super nice hubby! Yeah for Pashley!! I should name my pash, shouldn’t I? Hmmm….

  3. June 6, 2010 1:18 am

    Congratulations on deciding on a bike! I have to say I am surprised you decided on the Pashley in the end, but glad to have another Pashley Sister out there!

    My own bike is a sort of hybrid of different features, in that it has Pashley’s native geometry but a custom coaster-brake and 7-speed hub. Gotta have my coaster-brake, I love them! I also prefer the style of handlebars that Batavus has (not their height, but the shape of the bars themselves) and may switch out my Pash’s bars to this style at some point in the future. On the other hand, I prefer Pashley’s frame geometry, responsiveness, weight, dynamo lighting system, and quality of construction to the Batavus. This is why it made sense for me to buy the Pashley and modify it.

    Also, if you’ve been reading my blog, you have probably seen all the whining I’ve done over the past year about various minor complaints and frustrations. But I kept tweaking and tweaking the bike and wouldn’t give up, because at the heart of it, the Pashley is *majorly comfortable* and amazingly stable. It’s been a year now since I bought the bike, and finally I’ve made it absolutely perfect. I try Dutch bikes at various shops and belonging to friends all the time, and have never regretted my choice.

Leave a Reply

