Skip to content

24 hours later

June 6, 2010

I have been thinking a lot about the test rides I did yesterday and the Fryslan Vs Princess Sovereign. I wish I was more experienced in the bike world as far as being able to explain down to the last detail why I chose one over the other but right now I’m also wondering exactly why I picked the Pashley.

PhotobucketPhotobucket
photos taken by my loving husband “D”

It wasn’t exactly the coaster brakes on the Fryslan though I admit I was surprised and they would take getting used too. I guess I’m used to back peddling when I’m at a complete stop to have them positioned better when I start back up again.

I also think my arms were more bent on the Fryslan though I’m sure that could have been remedied by some adjustments too. I also felt more upright on the Pashley and it actually felt better for my back too.

But all in all I just liked the ride on the Pash better and I guess since this is an investment that is what is most important:)

I’m sure I’ll be doing some upgrades on it ala Velouria at Lovely Bicycles and Margonaute at ZOMGBicycles, especially adding Wald Rear folding racks and possibly changing the kickstand to a double one like my hybrid.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Kymba permalink
    June 7, 2010 11:15 am

    Hi there! I’m trying to make the same decision you just made and actually have come down to the same three, plus one other, as my “Want Bikes”. That’s how your blog came up in my search results, I think. I just want to say “Thanks!” Thank you so much for the excellent blogging of your decision making, it’s really helped me confirm my thinking and also reinforced one idea I often loose track of in the internet age; don’t jump into an online purchase, try something out for yourself no matter how good the reviews are they don’t know what it feels like to you/me.
    FYI my other “want bike” is the new Batavus BUB; smaller, modern styling, less expensive entry point than the others.
    Cheers!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 7, 2010 7:42 pm

      Kymba~

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. If you can make sure you test ride all your top bikes on the same day so its all fresh in your head….I hope you find the perfect bike for you too:)

      Fi

  2. June 8, 2010 8:22 pm

    Do you like your double kick-stand? What a great idea…

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 9, 2010 8:23 pm

      I love it…It does make the front go up off the floor but at least its stable now:) Hopefully it or a similar one will work for the Pash too

  3. June 11, 2010 12:12 am

    PLEASE let me know how you end up changing the kick stand. That is the one thing on the Pashley that I HATE.

    I have no problems with the bike being elevated off the ground. I just had how many times my Pashley has fallen over. Perhaps I’m not careful enough? I sport a pretty hefty basket on the front so mine is often top heavy.

    And the rack the basket sits on. I ditched that too. My basket is secured to the front tube thing with velcro tape.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 14, 2010 7:51 pm

      I researched all the double kickstand and heard that the Pleschers are the best. If its too elevated the wonderful guys at Red Bike can cut it down a bit. Right now my front tire is elevated about 3 1/2 inches off the floor.

  4. June 20, 2010 7:23 am

    There are only two brands of double legged kickstands that I am familiar with; Pletscher and Hebie. The Hebie is a bit more stable than the Pletscher for a loaded bike, but does not fold up as neatly. Cutting the Pletscher down so the front wheel sits only an inch off the ground does help with stability some. I leave mine long because I park on grass and soft ground quite often.

    Aaron

Leave a Reply

