Skip to content

My Rocky Moment!!!

June 25, 2010

This morning I had to go to Red Bike and put more money on the Pashley. I really enjoy the ride and its really not that far from me even going down 103 Avenue to 109 street and then over the High Level Bridge.

However, some of you will probably know the hill I’m talking about, there is this kind of two part hill on the other side of the bridge. The 1st party is where you are going up this grade to get off the bridge and then it kind of levels up and then starts up again.

I’ve always made it up to the level part after the 1st grade but ALWAYS had to walk my bike up the rest of the way to the top of that freaking hill

NOT TODAY!!!

P.S. For those that live in Edmonton and read this blog please don’t laugh at me about the hill LOL I know its probably doable for most but it was my bane for quite awhile

I actually made it all the way up WITHOUT stopping at all and even was able to bike a bit past Red Bike too. I know its because I’ve been biking a lot in the last few weeks and there is no stopping me now!

I biked to work twice this week. This past Sunday D and I biked 15.5 miles and today I did around 4.25 miles. We also have plans to bike tomorrow as I want to go over to the big Planet Organic and Earths General Store.

I’m over the moon!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2010 1:11 pm

    Congratulations! Just listening to you describe a “two-part hill” makes me tired…

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 25, 2010 7:11 pm

      LOL It probably isn’t as bad as I make it out to be but it was very hard for me so I was happy I made it all the way up that damned hill

  2. June 25, 2010 2:13 pm

    Hi – just found your blog recently. I’ve begun biking and love all the bike blogs I’ve found, especially those by women 🙂 Congrats on making it up the hill!! I know exactly how you feel. I live in a very hilly area and it doesn’t help that I’m in the South (U.S.), so it’s extremely hot also. I think it may be winter before I actually manage to make it up many of the hills, but for now I’m just trying to avoid them as much as possible, even if it means going out of my way!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 25, 2010 3:22 pm

      Traci~

      Thanks for stopping by and I’m going to check your blog out these evening. I did glance your your “About” page and saw you are in Atlanta..Yep it is pretty hot down there!! My sister lives just outside of Atlanta and my husband and I got married down in Georgia. I also lived in Ft Stewart/Hineville for 5.5 years with my now ex-spouse…

      Hopefully you are drinking a lot of water on your rides…I think if I lived down there still I’d probably wuss out and never ride. I also got a better appreciation for 24-hour grocery stores after living down there lol

      Take Care,
      Fiona

      • June 25, 2010 7:32 pm

        Hi Fiona,

        Yes, the heat and humidity in GA is a killer! Were you or your ex in the military since you lived in Ft. Stewart? How did you end up in Canada?

        I think I actually pour more water on myself during rides than I drink not sure that counts as hydration – lol 🙂

        So true about 24 hour grocery stores – almost nothing in Atlanta is open 24 hours! And you’re lucky if you can find a restaurant that’s open past 10:00p.m. – it’s so weird!

        If you ever visit your sister here, definitely let me know!

        Traci

  3. June 25, 2010 6:03 pm

    Keep going with the hard work, it’s obviously paying off!!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 25, 2010 7:10 pm

      Thanks Judy!!! It certainly was my high point of the week:)

  4. girlcanbike permalink*
    June 25, 2010 8:07 pm

    Traci~ Hopefully you will get this reply as I couldn’t reply directly to your reply . My ex was in the Army and that was the 1st post he was stationed out. I loved shopping at Piggly-Wiggly or Food Lion at 2 am down there too:) It was still hot but a bit more bearable.

    I moved up to Canada a bit over 9 years ago after meeting my new most awesome husband online:) Our 9-year anniversary is in August.

    I’ll for sure let you know if we ever head down…One of these years I’m determined to attend Dragon*Con

    Fiona

    • June 26, 2010 5:26 am

      Wow, that’s really cool that you met your husband online, moved to Canada and have been married for almost 9 years now. The drawback for me with Canada would be the winter weather – there are many places in the U.S. that I’d like to live, however don’t think I’d last through a winter due to being so accustomed to temperatures in the south – lol 🙂

      • girlcanbike permalink*
        June 27, 2010 2:47 pm

        LOL There are some places here where the winters are pretty mild and Ontario in the summer is almost pretty darn close to Summers in Georgia:D You can always come up for a visit though!!!

        If we had to move back to the US though I’d move to Portland Oregon where I’m from originally….Georgia made me gain to much weight with all the good Southern food and tons of Luzianne Sweet tea lol

  5. June 26, 2010 4:16 pm

    Your post made me smile because I can really relate to that feeling of accomplishment of finally getting up that hill (even though there is ALWAYS a bigger hill to conquer). For me, if I manage to ride all the way up the switchback below the university or that horrible little steep hill between Riverdale and Louise McKinney Park, I always celebrate a little at the top.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 27, 2010 2:44 pm

      At least you didn’t laugh…lol I’m sure most Edmontonians that bike thinks its a itty bitty hills but it sure was the bane of my existence for the longest time ….

      BTW I got to ride that Cygnet this morning:D

  6. June 26, 2010 4:17 pm

    Good work!

  7. June 27, 2010 6:02 pm

    I’ve heard Portland is a great city for biking, at least as far as U.S. cities go. I don’t think we have any place that can come close to European cities, but a few are really making progress. I think the car (or SUV) will always be king in GA, and the south in general.

    I definitely want to visit Canada sometime – I’ve never been anywhere there!

Leave a Reply

