Skip to content

Lady Lovely

June 27, 2010

I just got home from quite the morning:) I’m a smitten kitten and this is why

Photobucket

Super Bike Mechanic Keith just acquired this lovely lady and luckily thought of me. Seems like these days I’m getting a lot of enabling on my newfound love of bikes and now vintage bikes.

Photobucket

Lovely Lady is a 1978 Raleigh Tourist aka dl-1. She was the sweetest ride and its love love love!!

Photobucket

Photobucket

I’ll be picking her up in two weeks. She needs a wheel trued and some cosmetic upgrades and probably I’ll need help find a suitable rear rack for her as I guess the one she came with doesn’t suit her (I’m looking at you Deborah and Angel to help:D) I’ll get a front basket for her too and we’ll be zooming together all over Edmonton..

OMG!!! check out this bike

Photobucket

Its called a Cygnet and I don’t know much about it but they are rare, expensive and a sweet little ride too:) It was hanging out in the Bike Cave and hubby and I both got to take her out for a spin.

Photobucket

I hate the pictures of me as I’m still losing weight but hey I figure oh well you’ll all love me regardless:D Just focus on the bikes and all will be well lol

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 5:58 pm

    Love both those bikes! That Cygnet is so cute. I would love a vintage bike someday, but I need to ride a lot more before being able to justify getting another bike 🙂

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 27, 2010 7:00 pm

      Thanks:) I’m quite excited about the Raleigh and it was quite a find too. Maybe someday you’ll be riding enough to justify another bike…of course its all downhill from there;)

  2. June 27, 2010 8:11 pm

    She’s a pretty lady…

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 29, 2010 5:15 pm

      Grr I wish I could pick her up this week…LOL

  3. June 27, 2010 8:15 pm

    Sweet! I have a DL-1 too, just got a month a so ago and haven’t had time to do much to it. But I have taken it on the MUP’s here in Iowa City and it rolls along great. I need to a bit to the wheels to smooth the brakes out. Rear racks are not easy to find. The best bet I have located so far is a twisted chrome rack from Yellow Jersey Bikes in Madison, WI. It is apparently designed for the roadsters.

    Aaron

  4. June 27, 2010 10:46 pm

    Fiona, there is nothing to hate in those photos. Nothing!
    (Rod brakes! I am swooning over here!)
    As for racks, take a look at the NOS and used ones to be found on eBay. Pletscher style ones can often be had at quite reasonable prices, are period-appropriate, and are easy to install on bigger wheels. Also they work for egg crates. 😉

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 28, 2010 5:19 pm

      AWww Deborah you are sweet:) I really can’t wait to meet you in person too…I feel a bit stupid though but what is the NOS??? I think I’m going to just get a saddlebag and forgo the rear rack now

  5. June 27, 2010 11:33 pm

    The 635 wheels are a little hard to come by and require a good wheelsmith to get them rolling as smoothly as possible. Being steel they can be taken apart with the right jig be persuaded to go back into being round before they are rebuilt. The wheel lacing is a little different from modern wheels as Raleigh built them in a 3x un-crossed pattern.

    A standard 3 cross makes for a stiffer wheel but a little pulsing from the brakes is to be expected on most roadsters and actually aids braking.

    Older roadsters will have a 40 spoke rear wheel in a 4 cross pattern

  6. June 28, 2010 7:00 pm

    I’ve heard the dl-1s are lovely bicycles. I’ve been wanting to see one in real life. And this is the second blog today where I’ve seen the Cygnet. Lucky you for getting a test ride. Do you have any idea where I could find a website for Arvon Stacey? That is one cool bike!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 28, 2010 8:35 pm

      I’m not sure but I’ll ask the owner for sure and let you know:)

  7. June 28, 2010 8:13 pm

    The Raleigh is so nice! Now you have three bikes….sweet 😉

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      June 28, 2010 8:35 pm

      Thanks Judy….I’m still trying to figure out how it happened but I guess in the end I better be careful of what I wish for 😀

  8. unseelie permalink
    July 2, 2010 11:14 pm

    I just saw another Cygnet in a blog:
    http://breakingchainstakinglanes.wordpress.com/2010/06/22/the-cygnet-an-antique-design-revisited/

    What an amazing fender and frame, they look a little on the small side, but seriously stylish.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 3, 2010 8:25 am

      oh yes:) its actually the same bike..The lovely blogger from Breaking Chains also knows the owner of the Cygnet…..I really love how small the internet world really can be.

Leave a Reply

