Skip to content

Thinking about brakes

July 6, 2010

I’ve been thinking about the brakes on Lovely Lady for awhile now and while she does have rod brakes if anyone has ever used rod brakes or maybe its me but they aren’t the best brakes around.

Sooooo I’ve been wondering how possible or feasible it would be to put coaster brakes on her or if it would totally lose the integrity of the bike.

I’d like to use her one a few of the smaller hills here in Edmonton but right now I only feel comfortable taking her around areas downtown or within vicinity of my apartment.

What do you think?

Much Love & Happy Biking!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 7:38 pm

    I don’t know enough about specific bikes and parts to give an informed answer, but I do love coaster brakes. Reminds me of bikes I had as a kid! It just seems so natural to brake like that, but my husband completely disagrees – haha 🙂

    Traci

  2. July 12, 2010 8:37 pm

    I ride mine in hilly areas all the time; it is better at them than the Pashley despite having only 3 gears. Having installed a coaster brake on my DL-1, I do not think the bicycle loses integrity – because I have kept the rod brakes completely intact and functional. That’s the great thing about the coaster brake – it is an invisible addition that does not change the look or feel of the bike.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 13, 2010 5:36 am

      Velouria~ You did hills before you put on the coaster brakes? Wow!! I’ll go ahead and try it on one of the baby hills when it ever stops raining.

      I plan to have the coaster brakes done around October after a few other things are taken care off. Plus a few other upgrades too which I’ll post about.. I’m also still trying to figure out a kickstand though I suppose I can install one on the rear axle. Hopefully I’ll get a post up all about it today.

      Also, thank you for all you assistance too!!! Much Appreciated:)

      Fiona

Leave a Reply

