Skip to content

Eliza & Me

July 11, 2010

I finally took Eliza out this morning after finally getting a lock for her yesterday. I met up with a friend at Kingsway Garden Mall which is about 2.2 miles from where I live.

Since its Sunday I figure the traffic wouldn’t be too bad as I could take my time figuring out her brakes. The ride up was really quite nice and yes I did need the time to get used to the brakes and yes I will be trying to find grippier brake pads for her too. But I did enjoy the ride thoroughly!

I picked up a cute skirt at Reitmans and wandered around the mall for an hour and then Eliza and I enjoyed the ride home..

I’ll get pictures next time but my purse was pretty full of stuff and I haven’t figured out the basket/saddlebag issue yet:D

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 9:35 am

    Hello
    I feel your pain on equipping your DL-1 to carry significant loads.

    I bought my rear rack from the folks at Seattle Dutch bike company.
    I believe that it was made by Steco, a large dutch rack maker, who unfortunately doesn’t have an export presence in the USA or CA. I believe that Seattle DBC gets their racks from Henry at Workcycles. I’m sure that they, or one of the other Workcycles affiliated importers can get Steco products eventually though Workcycles, but it might take a while depending on when they’re getting their next container shipment.
    If you’re desperate, you might try ordering it directly from a dutch company and having it shipped to you directly, but it is quite expensive to go that way (the shipping costs as much or more than the rack.

    I bought a basket support which was designed to support a small basket load from a place in the UK, (partly because I was having something else shipped at the same time) but I have not tried to install it yet. I am concerned that the lines of the support will fight with the lines of the fork. The basket would still have to be tethered back to the head tube somehow.

    If you have other questions, feel free to drop me an email at bikinginheels@yahoo.com
    cheers- cycler

  2. Sarah permalink
    July 13, 2010 7:47 pm

    So hey–the good thing is that you can get NOS Steco racks through the Old Bicycle Showroom–they ship from the UK, but frankly, it was still cheaper than any comparable rack I’ve seen here. I think I mentioned before–I have the chrome Steco but they have the black one too–it just needs some extra fittings. I’d try that if I were you–they are gorgeous and heavy and very suited for the bike!

    I was also just looking tonight at the DL-1 in my neighbor’s yard (don’t know if I’ve told you this semi-tragic sage–he’s a wonderful old guy but a pretty serious hoarder and he has the loveliest late 60’s ladies’ DL-1 sitting in his backyard, won’t sell it or give it away, claims that his hoarder girlfriend plans to ride it, and I have a feeling that it will rust there). Anyway, it has a basket on it that seems to fit pretty well on the front and I think it’s just because the heron bracket keeps the basket well forward of the brakes. Does that make sense?

  3. Sarah permalink
    July 16, 2010 7:05 am

    that is a pretty fabulous rack! Too pricey for me at the moment, but I’ll think about it when I recover from this most recent fit of bike-buying–it is really elegant. For now I’m making do with a backpack and a nice old splint basket.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 16, 2010 7:21 am

      Sarah~ Its pretty much out of my range too right now…If it get it I’ll have to wait until late Fall. I think I may be bidding on a Nantucket bike basket on ebay or just an old fishing creel instead. I’ll be deciding on that today so I have a means to carry a water bottle and my camera and possibly the cat…lol just kidding about the cat

      Fi

  4. Sarah permalink
    July 16, 2010 7:08 am

    P.S. Cycler–did you order it from The Old Bicycle Showroom or some other great UK source? Maybe we need a Boston group order to save on postage–I may be ordering another rear rack!

  5. Sarah permalink
    July 16, 2010 11:12 am

    LOL! I am on Nantucket as we speak–working here for the rest of the summer and surrounded by baskets! I just bought one eBay–an old wooden split basket–hoping it will fit on my really old rod-brake roadster (which does have a bracket). I definitely agree with Velouria on the basket issue–I love the sleek look of these bikes sans basket and it removes a bit of the twee factor not to have one. And at the same time, the baskets do suit them and they’re unbeatable for just throwing stuff in them–groceries, beach towel, cat…ha!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 16, 2010 11:39 am

      Yea…I’m waffling on it but they do seem more attainable and within budget for me. I have a few other upgrades too I’m trying to budget for including replacing her tyres with Schwalb Cream ones which may also mean changing the tube type …Fun and Joy:)

      I think once I settle and buy a rear rack though the basket will be delegated for “twee rides;)” LOL I like that term!!

      P.S. I must say though that the cat does like being in my panniers…not while I’m actually riding though haha….

Leave a Reply

