Skip to content

This is the question

July 13, 2010

Soooo in October I have decided to go ahead and have Eliza fitted with coaster brakes. I feel that though it will take some getting used in the long run I’ll feel better having them then not.

I found this auction on eBay for a 3 speed coaster hub and this is what I’m hoping is correct for what I need. I’ll have a wheel built around it too, well I pretty much have too..LOL

There are a few other upgrades I have planned and I’ll make a separate post about that either later today or tomorrow. It’s a wet and dreary day so I have a whole of of nothing planned other than watching movies:)

P.S. I guess I need to know the width between the rear dropouts if anyone can help with that…I know kinda where to measure ….TIA

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 8:15 pm

    Hi Fi !
    Just make sure that you are thoroughly informed before you “take the plunge”. It’s your bike and you want to do what’s best for your Eliza. I’d recommend taking your bike to a couple of bike shops (of course I’d recommend RB, esp. Bruce) and ask them for an assessment 🙂

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 14, 2010 9:54 am

      Thanks Judy:) I’ll do that…I for sure want whats best for her:)

      Take Care,
      Fi

  2. July 13, 2010 9:55 pm

    Keith knows more about working on these old bikes than anyone else I know. You’re in good hands with him. He recently built up a coaster/3speed wheel for another old raleigh with rod brakes.

    To measure your dropout width, use a caliper and measure from the inside of the dropouts. It looks like this particular hub doesn’t come with any of the other hardware (cable, indicator chain, shifter), so be prepared to have to find those as well.

    I seem to remember being able to order SA 3sp coaster hubs (as well as rims) from EBC’s wholesaler (though I couldn’t find them on a quick check of their website).If you’re still interested in volunteering there, one of the perks is being allowed to order in parts at a great discount, which could save you some bux.

    Eliza is a gorgeous ride. Congrats on the start of a beautiful relationship!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 13, 2010 10:18 pm

      Coreen,

      are you at EBC on thursday? I’m a bit nervous grading over by myself but if someone I “knew” was there that would be better. I’ll bring eliza over too:). I’ll get more volunteer information then too

      TIA

      • July 13, 2010 11:06 pm

        I’ll be there on Sunday for women’s day.
        Alex should be there on thursday when the shop opens, and he can get you more information about volunteering, give you a tour of the place and introduce you to some of the other regulars.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 14, 2010 9:54 am

      Sounds good Coreen and thanks:) I’ll probably head over early as I want to look for a few things there too:)

Leave a Reply

