Skip to content

Broken

July 28, 2010

Blog posts may be few and far between for the next two weeks as I broke my toe today.  No working out and so no biking either:(  I may have a few entry’s prattling about other bike related things but no actual biking posts.

P.S.  I slammed my toe up against the coffee table really hard this morning and didn’t even look at my toe until after I got home from biking to the grocery store..lol

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2010 7:17 pm

    Oh no! I love that you just shrugged it off until you got home. 🙂 Hope you heal up fast!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 28, 2010 7:31 pm

      Thanks Amy…I was pretty astounded that it was broken..the bike ride was still quite lovely though . Of course now it hurts to put on shoes

  2. July 28, 2010 7:26 pm

    Ouch!!! Hope it feels better soon. Maybe you’ll be surprised and it won’t feel so bad and you’ll still be able to bike 🙂

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 28, 2010 7:30 pm

      I may just suck it up and bike anyways..I have a theory that if I try to pedal with my heel that that shouldn’t put any pressure up by my toe:) hopefully that is lol

  3. July 29, 2010 11:03 am

    That’s terrible. Best wishes for a speedy recovery!

    I’m reminded of a story: A couple of years ago, a couple of friends of mine biked to vancouver. On their first day out (near Spruce Grove), one of them crashed and hurt his arm. They continued on, and the arm hurt for the rest of the trip, but he never saw a doctor about it until he got back home. When he finally did have it x-rayed, it turned out that he had actually broken his wrist, and that he had rode all the way to vancouver on a broken bone! The doctor said that it probably wasn’t as bad as it sounds, because exercise is important in keeping up strength while bones are healing, and cycling is relatively low impact.

    Take care!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 29, 2010 11:37 am

      I’m going to see my new doctor tomorrow and get an actual x-ray to confirm and ask him if its ok to keep riding..Bear in mind though I don’t have a any good shoes that wont be too tight so I may have to get craft on that…..I think biking with flipflops would be a very bad idea..lol

  4. Sarah permalink
    July 29, 2010 5:53 pm

    oh no! What a pain. But yes–I wonder–I bet leisurely biking would be fine and maybe a nice break from, uh…walking.

    I broke my toe a few years back and had to wear Birkis for the rest of the summer–no more flip-flops!

  5. July 29, 2010 10:26 pm

    I hope your toe heals quickly. No trip to the market together for a few weeks,eh?

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 30, 2010 3:32 pm

      Ha! I’m going tomorrow if the weather is good:) Toe be damned! lol

Leave a Reply

