Skip to content

Kickstands

July 29, 2010

Eliza needs a kickstand badly!! I having to find a wall to prop her up against and when Pashley arrives it will make it harder to arrange the bikes in the bedroom.

I was going to try and do something like Deborah from Loop-Frame Love did here but the mounting plate wont work with Eliza because of her rod brakes.

Soooo if anyone has any ideas I’d really appreciate it …I’d love a double kickstand but at this point I’ll entertain any ideas

Much Love& Happy Riding!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 12:57 am

    If you contact Jon Gehman at Red Barn Bicycle Accessories (http://redbarnbike.blogspot.com), I am sure he can make one for you.

    Your only other hope is finding an original one, which would be tough.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 30, 2010 3:01 pm

      Thanks Velouria!!:) I’ll contact Jon soon and see what he may be able to do for me:)

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      July 30, 2010 7:38 pm

      Veloruia~

      Is there anyways I could get some close up shots of the kickstand on your DL-1?? This may make it easier for me to try and figure out something.

      TIA:)

      • August 2, 2010 3:38 am

        Sorry, I didn’t see this till now. Sure, I will try to get some shots.

      • girlcanbike permalink*
        August 2, 2010 8:09 pm

        Thanks Velouria:)

  2. August 1, 2010 9:18 am

    I will see if I can get you a picture of the one on mine. It is either an Esge or Greenfield, standard single leg aluminum kickstand.

    Aaron

  3. August 1, 2010 11:23 am

    Here is a picture to the kickstand mounted on my DL-1. It is a Greenfield (made in the USA) It is a bit on the short side, but I plan to add a rubber foot to the end of it which will make it bit taller. I have seen racks with the full rear wheel stand (think Dutch style) on a DL-1 somewhere, but cannot remember where I saw it.

    Aaron

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 1, 2010 3:52 pm

      Thanks for the photo Aaron!! Visuals always work so much better for me:)

  4. August 1, 2010 6:33 pm

    I will check and see if there is clearance for the double legged Esge stand. I have one on another bike, but have no clue if it will fit or not. I doubt it, but I have been wrong before…once 😉

    Aaron

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 1, 2010 7:47 pm

      Aaron

      Have you seen this double kickstand from Velo Orange? I’d LOVE to see if that would work too..Knowing my luck it will work on my Pashley when I get it but not the DL-1

      http://www.velo-orange.com/podolegki.html

      I have someone from Boston that is able to make me something that will work with the Raleigh ..He is the person that made the rear rack for Velouria’s DL-1 from Lovely Bicycle.

  5. Amanda permalink
    August 3, 2010 12:23 pm

    My DL-1 has a standard kick stand on it, and someone shaved down the plate to accommodate the rods. A DIY solution to be sure, but a cheap one. those kick stands are everywhere. I can take a picture if you are interested in this solution.

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 3, 2010 12:43 pm

      Amanda~That would be awesome and thanks…I’m still entertaining ideas right now as I’m trying now to rush into anything w/out thinking it through completely

      Fi

      • Amanda permalink
        August 3, 2010 7:24 pm

        Here are some cell phone pics of the modded kickstand on my DL-1…

        From the side:
        DSC00166

        From below:
        DSC00165

        Sorry for the poor quality. Hope this helps!

Leave a Reply

