Skip to content

I’m just a klutz & a chance meeting

July 30, 2010

Good News!!

My toe is not broken. Bad news is I’m just a klutz.  Hubby made me go back the the clinic this morning for an x-ray and that was the final result. But YAYYYYY bike riding again.

When we got back home I immediately changed into some fresh clothes, grabbed my bike and headed out to Planet Organic for Greek yogurt.

Guess whoI saw leaving Elm Cafe with her homies!?!  Yep, Miss Sarah Chan of Girls & Bicycles …I was quite excited as I had to cancel a meeting with her and Judy(Penner Chronicles) a few weeks ago though Im sure I may have startled her when I yelled out her lol..She immediately recognized me and gave me a hug too:)

The meeting was even funnier because when we were coming back to our bldg from the clinic hubby spied a bike and asked what it was..I said “hmmm Electra Amsterdam”  and I thought I recognized one of Miss Sarah’s friends, Raffaella, from a photo I’d seen but since Sarahs back was to me I did know 100% if it was indeed her.  Awesome that it was though:)

Miss Sarah is as nice as she is online though I felt like a giant standing next to her..She had on a pretty summer dress and checked out Eliza too:)  Made my weekend too as she was one of the first women that bike in Edmonton blogs I ever read and has been a huge influence on how and why I bike now.

Tomorrow I plan on biking down to the Farmers Market for peaches and a few other goodies and if it isn’t totally hot a short but scenic ride somewhere.

Much Love & Happy Riding!!

P.S. If you live or come to visit Edmonton I highly suggest visiting Elm Cafe at 117 Street & Jasper Ave. They have great sandwiches, muffins, and coffee.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 12:51 am

    It was great to meet you! Hopefully next time I can chat for longer. We’ll make sure to reschedule with Judy soon:) Thanks for calling out, or else I would have ridden by without even noticing and not have had our happy exchange.

    S*

  2. August 1, 2010 11:59 am

    So glad that your toe is not actually broken and you’re back on the bike! 🙂 How hot does it get there? In the past I’ve chosen places to live based on how cold it got in the winter, but after this summer, I may have to do the opposite – haha! The heat and humidity is killing us this summer! Maybe those cold winters aren’t so bad after all if it doesn’t get so hot in the summer!

    • girlcanbike permalink*
      August 1, 2010 5:10 pm

      It can get up around 87 up here not including humidity. It parts of Ontario it can get even worse. There were summers when we lived in Ontario that were so hot it was like living down by Savannah again…Ugh! I like really mild weather between 70-80 degrees or warm but no humidity and lots of breeze. I actually love the winters up here:) It can get pretty cold though, especially if you have to factor in any wind chill

      • August 1, 2010 6:16 pm

        I think I could handle 87 even with humidity. Once it gets above about 92 though I’m usually staying inside 🙂 Yesterday was around 98 with a heat index of about 105, but the temp dropped a bit after a thunderstorm, so we rode to dinner. The humidity returned with a vengeance though by the time we headed home, so it was not pleasant!

        I’m with you – and prefer temps of 70-80, but actually don’t mind winter here usually. I need a place that doesn’t get hotter than 80, but no colder than about 30 – not sure that place exists – haha!

      • girlcanbike permalink*
        August 1, 2010 7:50 pm

        Maybe Ireland? lol…that is where I’d love to live but heck I’d settle for Copenhagen or back to Portland for sure.

        The things I miss from Georgia
        Savannah
        Cracker Barrel
        Luzianne Iced Tea bags (my sister wont send me up any)
        Hush Puppies
        and of course
        Popeyes Chicken:)

        If I could handle the summer’s down there I’d be happily fed and probably fat(ter;)

Leave a Reply

